Central Visa Unit Services – Short Stay Visits

Central Visa Unit

Non-EU citizens (also known as third-country nationals) may visit Malta by means of a Schengen visa, which allows free movement within the whole Schengen Zone to European Union Schengen members as well as EFTA Schengen members. A Schengen visa is valid for a maximum of 90 days within every six-month period starting from the date of entry.


Those non-EU citizens hailing from the visa free-regime countries and who are exempt from applying for a Schengen Visa for travel purposes for the first 90 days are expected to apply for a National Visa if they wish to stay longer than 90 days.


The attainment of a Schengen visa to enter and reside for a specific amount of time in a Schengen area does not mean that the holder of such visa may take up employment or study in Malta.

Non-EU Nationals Booking

Press the “Book Now” button to

make an appointment.