Central Visa Unit Main Page

Central Visa Unit

The Central Visa Unit (CVU) is the government’s immigration central authority responsible for the implementation of national visa policies and the provisions under the Schengen acquis (as far as visa matters are concerned). The responsibility of issuing a visa is shared with Malta’s Diplomatic Missions abroad.


The Central Visa Unit is committed to facilitating the issuance of a visa to all applicants, who have a valid and genuine reason to reach the Maltese territory.


What is a Visa?


A visa is an authorisation in the form of a sticker affixed to a passport that authorizes the bearer to stay in or travel through Malta during a limited, specified, period. The possession of a visa does not give the third-country national the automatic right of entry, as bearers must prove that they will meet the conditions of entry.


Notwithstanding the possession of a visa, border control authorities may refuse entry or annul the visa if it is established that:


  • the bearer is not in possession of adequate means of subsistence;
  • the data submitted during the visa application produced was incorrect or falsified;
  • the bearer is unable to provide details regarding the circumstances of his/her stay in Malta.

Border control authorities may also refuse entry for security or public policy reasons. Malta mainly issues two (2) types of visas:


  • The Schengen Visa (short stay), which is issued for a period not exceeding 90 days and is regulated by the EU’s harmonised provisions; and
  • The National Visa (long stay / D-Visa), which is issued for a period exceeding 90 days, but no longer than 365 days, and in accordance with national rules.